Don’t Criticize, Condemn or Complain

Yikes, I don’t know about you guys and gals, but I pretty much do this daily…..for sure the complaining part, nothing is safe from my complaining run, RUN FAST….

So then I looked up the definition of criticism this morning in google….

crit·i·cism
  • the expression of disapproval of someone or something based on perceived faults or mistakes.”he received a lot of criticism”the analysis and judgment of the merits and faults of a literary or artistic work.“alternative methods of criticism supported by well-developed literary theories”the analysis and judgment of the merits and faults of a literary or artistic work.
“alternative methods of criticism supported by well-developed literary theories”the analysis and judgment of the merits and faults of a literary or artistic work.

And yep…..sadly enough I criticize, myself, others and situations..

So what do i do about this, keep criticizing and complaining??? Or do I work on myself and STOP. At least stop outload and STOO with other people. So I made a decision… instead of condemning people, how about I try to understand them, figure out why they do what they do. And at the same time, why I do what I do…

“To know all is to forgive all.” – Dale Carnegie

So, I started reading Dale Carnegie’s book this week, “How to Win Friends & Influence People”. This is where all this comes from. I have read it many times and enjoy the read each time. Written in the 1920s it still is true today. If you haven’t read it before, it should be on your top 10 reads this year.

“Criticism is futile because it puts a person on the defensive and usually makes him strive to justify himself. Criticism us dangerous because it wounds a persob’s precious pridr, hurts his sense of importance, and arouses resentment.” – Dale Carnegie

So I made a decision to work on me daily, as follows:

  • Stop criticizing myself and others outload;
  • Stop condemning myself and others outload; and
  • Stop complaining about myself and others outload.

No one is perfect, nor should they want to be. So with any daily improvement have fun with it, don’t be too serious and enjoy the journey!

So what I decided to do is since I love, love, love stationary, did I say LOVE?? I created a journal for all my criticisims, condemning and complaining of people, things, situations and of myself. I have always enjoyed journaling and have always felt once you get it off your chest you feel so much better. So instead of me venting or complaining to someone, I am going to write a letter to that person or write about the situation in my journal. I may or may not throw it out afterwards…or may leave it there. Who knows, but I plan on having fun with it. I found this fun journal below online…hehehe

“When dealing with people, let us remember we are not dealing with creatures of logic. We are dealing with creatures if emotion, creatures bristling with prejudices and motivated by pride and vanity.” – Dale Carnegie.


When winter ends, spring begins! The days get longer and the air gets warmer, trees and flowers bloom and animals have their babies. Spring is the perfect time to get rid of bad habits to welcome in newer, healthier and productive habits. So Goodbye Winter, Hello Spring!!!

Love Vanessa 💖

Love love, Heather Stillufsen’s or Rose Hill by Heather Stillufsen’s designs. Make sure you check out her facebook page or instagram page and lets support each other 💖

Leave a comment